Moksha Yoga Danforth

13 Nov

mokshaThe first stop on my path to finding the perfect yoga studio: Moksha Yoga Danforth. I’m a big fan of Moksha Yoga having regularly practiced at Moksha Dundas for about two years.

Location

372A Danforth Avenue
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
M4K 1N8

Subway: Chester Station

Space

The studio was much smaller than what I expected. I found that some of the classes were too full and there wasn’t much room to stretch without getting into your neighbours space. The overcrowded classes also led to the studio feeling much hotter than the studio that I use to practice in.

Schedule

Classes are offered from 6:30 AM to 10:30 PM Monday to Friday and 8 AM to 6:15 PM Saturday and Sundays. A variety of different class types are offered each day. The studio is too far from where I live and work for me to practice in the morning before work. Due to this, on weekdays I could only practice after 5 PM. This usually gave me 3 classes each day to choose from.

Classes

Moksha Yoga: The traditional 40 posture series is offered in the 90 minute Moksha class. Condensed versions are offered in 60 and 75 minute classes. I tried the 90 minute class a few times and at first it was rigorous trying to get use to the heat once again. I found the teacher, Scott, to be very helpful and engaging. He moved around the class correcting peoples poses or helping them find a modification of the posture that would be more beneficial to them. This is a big thing for me. I always feel slightly cautious of how I do certain postures and to get feedback from the instructor is something I am looking for.

Moksha Flow: Links Moksha sequence with vinyasa flows. I love flow classes, unfortunately I did not get to try one given conflicting schedules.

Yin Yoga: Reduced heat class to induce relaxation and de-stress. I tried one yin class and it wasn’t for me. I am someone who needs to keep moving (hence why I enjoy flow classes) and being still is a challenge. Ironic, I know.

Moksha/Yin: Mixes Moksha and Yin accompanied by music. I did not try this class.

Moksha Karma: 60 minute Moksha class offered on a minimum $8 donation.

Moksha Community: 60 minute Moksha class lead by a new teacher at a reduced rate ($8).

Prices

Yoga is not cheap and Moksha Danforth is no exception.

Introductory Package: $20 for 2 weeks unlimited yoga
Classic Membership: $100/month minimum 4 month commitment
Freedom Membership: $140/month minimum 4 month commitment (includes mat, towel, shower towel rental)
5 Class Card: $75
10 Class Card: $140
20 Class Card: $240
Single Class: $19
One Month Unlimited: $145
One Year Unlimited: $1240
Private Instruction: $100/hr

Conclusion

Despite the small, packed studio, I really enjoyed my practice at Moksha Danforth and will consider going back for Community and Karma classes in the future.

 

Leave a comment